Currently, the Denver Metro Project Management Education Foundation has awarded more than $250,000 in college scholarships to outstanding high school students, as part of our project management training program.

“Some of our scholarship winners have been able to leverage these accomplishments into full ride scholarships at Colorado’s finest colleges and universities.”
Bob Kois, PMP, Mentor

Since our founding in 2001, more than 350 students have been mentored through the thousands of hours donated by volunteer mentors from credentialed professionals in the project management industry.

By the end of 2020, our goals are to have mentored 500 high school students and to expand this valuable program throughout suburban and inner-city schools throughout metro Denver.

“What an inspiration. These kids I’ve worked with are so impressive as to their ability learn project management skills.”
Bill D. Miller, PMP, Mentor

No other educational foundation offers this unique 4-step program

Step #1: Mentor high school students in project management skills.

Foundation Awards

Step #2: Recognize students through our Annual High School Projects of the Year Contest in participating school systems across the Front Range.  Winners are then eligible to compete for our college scholarships.

Step #3: Award individual scholarships after an extensive scholarship application process to the top students in our program.

Step #4: Follow-up with winners throughout college–and beyond!

“The skills the Foundation teaches give these bright young people a leg up on most other students”
Hal Lunka, PMP, Mentor

Partnering with Front Range schools & projects

Our current partners:

  • Denver Public Schools
  • Aurora Public Schools
  • Cherry Creek Public Schools
  • Colorado First Robotic Competition
  • Denver Green Jobs Initiative
  • MESA-2010 Colorado


Congrats to 2015 and 2016 award winners from Thomas Jefferson High School and Eagle Crest High School.

Aisanae Jackson Holding Scholarship Check

Aisanae Jackson

D'aris James Holding Scholarship Check

D’aris James

Award Winner Derek Wachter

Derek Wachter

Olivia Gardner, Student Project of the Year Winner.

Olivia Gardner, our leading Student Project of the Year Winner.

Scholarship Winner James Fisher

James Fisher, with Chuck Knezevich, left, and Bob Kois, right.

Scholorship Winner Theophilus Frimpong

Theophilus Frimpong

Award & Scholorship Winner Herick Acosta

Herick Acosta